Certification des agriculteurs

Pour obtenir son certificat, un agriculteur doit:
  • Participer à un Cours sur l’utilisation sécuritaire des pesticides et réussir l’examen à livre ouvert avec une note de 75% ou plus, ET
  • Être âgé d’au moins 16 ans, ET
  • Être un "agriculteur" impliqué dans une "exploitation agricole", tel que défini dans le Règlement 63/09 de la Loi sur les pesticides de l’Ontario (ministère de l’Environnement)

Les employés de la ferme ainsi que les autres membres d’une même famille agricole peuvent aussi être certifiés. Les frais de certification sont de 105 $ par personne.

N. B. : Tous sont bienvenus à suivre le cours. Mais si vous ne correspondez pas à la définition d’agriculteur, vous ne pourrez pas utiliser le certificat pour l’achat et l’usage de pesticides des catégories 2 et 3. Vous pouvez être propriétaire, louer, partager la récolte ou encore être employé d’une ferme.

Qui N’EST PAS admissible au certificat sur l’utilisation sécuritaire des pesticides?

Vous n'êtes pas admissible pour ce certificat si les cultures ou les animaux que vous produisez sont principalement pour votre propre usage ou consommation, ou si la production sert principalement de passe-temps ou de loisirs.

Si vous envisagez d'appliquer des pesticides commercialement, comme une entreprise, vous avez besoin d'une licence d'exterminateur. Composez le 1-888-620-9999 pour plus d'information sur les exigences de certification nécessaires pour obtenir une licence d'exterminateur.

Si vous voulez vendre des pesticides, vous avez besoin d'une licence de vendeur de pesticides (cependant, certains pesticides peuvent être vendus sans licence). Pour de plus amples renseignements, composez le 1-866-683-6737 ou le 519-674-1500 poste 63584.

Si vous ne savez pas comment la réglementation des pesticides de l'Ontario s'applique à votre situation, vous pouvez communiquer avec le bureau régional du ministère ontarien de l'Environnement le plus proche de chez vous et demandez à parler à un spécialiste en pesticides. Il ou elle vous indiquera quel certificat ou licence vous sera nécessaire.

Farmer Certification

To become a Certified Farmer, you must:
  • participate in a Grower Pesticide Safety Course and pass the open-book test with a mark of 75% or more, AND
  • be at least 16 years of age, AND
  • be a "farmer" involved in an "agricultural operation", as defined under Regulation 63/09 of the Ontario Pesticides Act. (Ontario Ministry of the Environment)

Farm employees and farm family members are eligible for the certification. The certification fee is $105 per person.

Note: Anyone is welcome to take the course, but if you do not meet the definition of a farmer you cannot use a certificate to purchase or use Class 2 or 3 pesticides. You may own, rent, lease, share crop or be employed on a farm.

Who Does NOT Qualify for the Grower Pesticide Safety Course Certificate?

You do not qualify for this certificate if the crops or animals you produce are primarily for your own use or consumption - or - if the production is primarily for the purposes of a pastime or recreation.

If you plan to apply pesticides commercially, as a business, you need an Exterminator Licence.  Call 1-888-620-9999 for information about certification requirements necessary to obtain an exterminator license.

If you want to sell pesticides (there are some pesticides that you may sell without a licence), you need a Pesticide Vendors Licence. For more information, call 1-866-683-6737 or 519-674-1500 ext. 63584.

If you are unsure how Ontario's pesticide regulation applies to your situation, please contact the Ontario Ministry of the Environment and Climate Change Regional Office nearest you and ask to speak with a Pesticides Specialist.  The Specialist will tell you which certificate or licence you require.

Accessibility

The University of Guelph is committed to making its learning, living and work environments accessible and welcoming. In 2005, the province introduced the Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act (AODA), which seeks to ensure a fully accessible Ontario by 2025. This law moves from the concept of accommodation, where we make alterations on a per-person basis depending on that person’s disability, to one of accessibility where process, procedures, and policies are designed to improve access to the University’s people, goods and services.

Please contact us to tell us how we can best support your needs.